introspective periscope : peeking inside since Y2K

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy spring

one thirty p.m.-just before bed. - twentieth of march, 2001-riding out a cold

so....it was a glorious monday, except for being mostly ill now. my sore throat has moved in stages, upgrading itself to "cold" status. Stuffy nose and coughing. Yay.

I started the day lateish, as a fitfull puppy tossed and turned all morning and I begged for sleep. When I finally did get up, I woke up to one of the sweetest emails I've gotten in some time. See, someone feels my pain when I talk about getting the cable shut off; someone understands that I really do live vicariously through MTV's soap-without-the-soap, Undressed. Yes, T von Tennessee made my day start off with a smile, yet again. I sent him a card, which hardly compared. It said Happy Spring. I am a dork. I never claimed to be otherwise.

So I took my puppy to the Grove and let her walk around and did some real thinking. There is a local boy...a friend who likes my deviled eggs...and there is all sorts of kindness coming from him that I just don't know how to take just yet. I think its cuz I'm so wrapped up in the box; so taken with the boy that seems to be from another planet. No, I'm not into aliens...but a boy that digs good films, good music, good food, has a good sense of humor, and cuddles with his pillows.....okay, yeah. Its a crush. And I was able to figure all of that out in a few hours out in the sunshine. I just don't know how it can be practical, but at this point, I don't care...its just good to smile; its good to be happy; its good to look forward to the virtual company of another. Maybe its time I take a weekend flight to Nashville and see some Dollyville. Yes. Happy spring indeed.

I worked a few hours this evening and I'm feeling a bit more sick. Tim came up from Carriage House and we watched Coyote Ugly. Although predictable and somewhat lacking in plot, the film made up for its holes in half naked girlies dumping water all over each other. Not something I'd pay my last $8.50 to see in a sticky-floored theatre, but renting it gave me a new view of pop culture: movie goers are, indeed, as Roger Ebert said, growing more mindless. I think I shall make up for this and go see some more movies with subtitles. I think there is a foreign film fest coming up on campus...or at least a Sunday or two of films that nobody will ever pay to see. I think I need to look into that.

So.

Poetry. I know I've been ranting more than usual, lately...but I'm trying some new dicipline, sort of. I'm trying to observe things a little bit more in a different way. I did write some poetry this evening....but its just gonna have to wait til tomorrow cuz this monkey's goin' to bed. Yes, dear. I turned the blanket up on high and took my medicine.

*sanitary virtual hugs to all* Be well, eat your vitamin C, drink your green tea and have good days. Happy spring.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.what came before. - .what happened next.

a diamond at the bottom of the drain - 20 october 2017
baseball season to football season, abbreviated - 25 september 2017
the doodles - 11 july 2017
at arm's length - 4 july 2017
like a sea-mammal needs a bicycle - 30 may 2017

latest entry

about me

catalogue

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

kraven
non-descript
heartshaped
fuschia