introspective periscope : peeking inside since Y2K

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

weekend update

nine thirtyish - eighteenth of march, 2001, with a sore throat

minty fresh mouth tastes much much cooler. yeah. once again, i'm reminded why i'm cancelling the cable. minty fresh mouths do not taste much much cooler. they taste minty and wintergreen mouths give me headaches. now cinnamon...thats the way to go. idiot box, be warned. tomorrow, you shall cease to waste my time.

so the weekend was one full of grandeur and strange weather. i worked on friday but not really. the servers were down most of the evening and i never did get on the phones to call those folks in idaho and ask them about their insurance. i went to culpeppers on my break and had a pint with susan. i haven't seen susan in a month, maybe...maybe less. she has this new haircut and its so fucking cute that if she wasn't finally working things out with that jen (who had better treat her better this time) i'd probably have kissed her right there. i dont' know what it is about susan that makes me just wanna kiss her...but she's so kind and laid back. i guess there aren't enough laid back folks in my life. we talked and raved and complained and then it was back to work, where we were promptly sent home. no biggie.

we went back to my place and brian m was there a half hour later. he ran susan home and i readied myself for barring. i never really go uptown anymore. i wonder if this is because most of my friends are way young now. maybe its because i'm really uncomfortable drinking around a lot of strangers. maybe its because i'm rarely really comfortable.

so we went up to Philly Street and bypassed all of the hoppin' bars and started on what was to be a townie white trash bar hop at Al Patti's. We had a pitcher of flattish beer and that was all I could take for I am a lightweight (in the tolerance sense of the word, of course). I am lame and flat beer makes me queasy. So, the bar tour came to an end.

We went for a walk with the dog and caught up....spending time with Brian always makes me feel happy again. He is encouraging and always makes me laugh til I cry. We came home and watched some movie with all of the drunk cats that stumbled in at about the same time as us and then curled up in my bed to sleep. Its good, sometimes, to be reminded of the feeling that comes with having a breathing, warm creature next to you while you sleep; to have someone there when you wake up...no matter if it IS your best friend who you would never think of in any other way. its just good to have that feeling of security next to you, the feeling that if the electric blanket actually DOES start on fire, you won't be the only one to melt beneath it. Er. That was all wrong. Anyway, it was comforting and certainly made me ache for a little companionship....but I think that I've gotten too used to being single for so long....I have no idea where to begin to tell someone how I feel, let alone do something about it. This makes the current state of affairs all the more difficult to deal with.

We woke semi-early on Saturday to the sounds of rain, I believe. We bathed, dressed, and headed to EatnPark for brunch. I know I haven't laughed as much as I did this weekend. Mark joined us shortly afterwards from Pittsburgh and the three of us were together. The three of us together is trouble, most times.

We went to the Goodwill to kill some time while Tim from Carriage House picked up some party treats for me. I got my first bust this weekend. This bust isn't just any bust, but the bust of Teddy Roosevelt. And, as an added feature, his head comes off and exposes a bloody stump. Wait. No. It exposes a plunger that was meant to spray Tai Winds Avon cologne on some man some place. I wonder what the designer was thinking when they created the bust/cologne holder. I wonder about the life of the person that actually bought the bust. Was it a gift? Was it simply cheaper to buy the cologne with the bust? Was the scent going out of distribution and so, he wanted to buy a bigger bottle than normal and what better bottle but the bust of Teddy Roosevelt? I wonder about these things as I sift through the discarded donated items at the Goodwill. There are a hundred stories on every rack. I took one home this weekend. I also bought a pair of Night Rider aviation glasses with purple lenses. They were 45 cents and are ass ugly, but I fell for them right away. I like cheesy things that amuse me. They make me look like a lightening bug or something. Looking through them is like looking through a glass of red grape wine. We picked up the SanRio from Tim and headed home. Hellooooooooooooo, kitty.

Nacho came home and greeted Kitty. Overall, it was a strange evening. We wandered, we roamed. We talked, we laughed, I cried, we laughed some more. I hurt my hand at some point. Its gross. I looked down and was bloody and gross. I believe I called the gross spot on my knuckle a "big ball of fuckedupedness". 'Nuff said.

They all left today. My throat is hurting. I don't know how I can compact all of the emotional uphill I've treked into a short entry and I don't think I have the energy to complete it.

There are some things I need to sort out.....boys, mostly. Eek. Sometimes, things come down to questions of ethics and questions of practicality. boys in england:beware....there are other boys that are just as hot without the accent. I feel better in the head. Now, I just need my body to catch up. Talkin' with T von Tennessee....makes me smile. Props. Be well, kids....this cat is sleepy.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.what came before. - .what happened next.

a diamond at the bottom of the drain - 20 october 2017
baseball season to football season, abbreviated - 25 september 2017
the doodles - 11 july 2017
at arm's length - 4 july 2017
like a sea-mammal needs a bicycle - 30 may 2017

latest entry

about me

catalogue

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

kraven
non-descript
heartshaped
fuschia