introspective periscope : peeking inside since Y2K

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the atlas diary

back from the road - twenty third of february, 2003

"comfortable life ain't all its cracked up to be....and its easy to get caught in the way of the world."~josh rouse

i just want you to know that i really needed today. i want you to know that if i had to spend another sunday trapped in this house in this stupid town i might have been a lot worse off than i already am. there are some sundays that are meant for sleeping late and never getting out of your pajamas and eating soup. this was not one of those sundays and i want you to know how much it means to have at least one person in the whole world know the exact feeling i'm feeling without me having to tell them.

i think it must've been sometime over breakfast at eatnpark that i got fidgety and bored with the surroundings. confusing italian toast for french toast will do that to you. a shift from french toast to italian when you're bored with spaghetti will make anyone need an adventure.

or maybe it was just that i haven't seen just you....just you and me...in so very long.

so we went back to my house and all of the intense uncomfortable energy for a change of shoes and my water bottle and then, we hit the road.

i don't know why it always suprises me when you say yes to my crazy ideas. maybe its because i'm used to hearing no to my wildest suggestions.

a couple of hours on the interstate and some tears and talk later, the snow picked up and we laughed and kept on to the place where the interstate ends.

the snow whipped across presce isle relentlessly, drifting snow over the road and freezing everything it touched immediately.

we parked on the bay side and watched the ice fishermen. we bundled up and sprung out of the car, jumping and freezing and happy.

this is the adventure we always know.

the ice dunes were more amazing than i ever would have imagined. it never occurred to me to fathom sand and snow together. it never occured to me that sand, too, could freeze. it never occured to me that the plants on the shore of lake erie might need their crystal protection from the winds, each twig safely coated in thick glass ice.

my eyes were freezing. my skin was freezing. my ankles and knees were aching with cold. but it was all worth it because now, i have a memory. i have an image to conjure of ice dunes.

you and i....we have the best adventures.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the atlas diary

back from the road - twenty third of february, 2003

"comfortable life ain't all its cracked up to be....and its easy to get caught in the way of the world."~josh rouse

i just want you to know that i really needed today. i want you to know that if i had to spend another sunday trapped in this house in this stupid town. there are some sundays that are meant for sleeping late and never getting out of your pajamas and eating soup. this was not one of those sundays and i want you to know how much it means to have at least one person in the whole world know the exact feeling i'm feeling without me having to tell them.

i think it must've been sometime over breakfast at eatnpark that i got fidgety and bored with the surroundings. confusing italian toast for french toast will do that to you. a shift from french toast to italian when you're bored with spaghetti will make anyone need an adventure.

or maybe it was just that i haven't seen just you....just you and me...in so very long.

so we went back to my house and all of the intense uncomfortable energy for a change of shoes and my water bottle and then, we hit the road.

i don't know why it always suprises me when you say yes to my crazy ideas. maybe its because i'm used to hearing no to my wildest suggestions.

a couple of hours on the interstate and some tears and talk later, the snow picked up and we laughed and kept on to the place where the interstate ends.

the snow whipped across presce isle relentlessly, drifting snow over the road and freezing everything it touched immediately.

we parked on the bay side and watched the ice fishermen. we bundled up and sprung out of the car, jumping and freezing and happy.

this is the adventure we always know.

the ice dunes were more amazing than i ever would have imagined. it never occurred to me to fathom sand and snow together. it never occured to me that sand, too, could freeze. it never occured to me that the plants on the shore of lake erie might need their crystal protection from the winds, each twig safely coated in thick glass ice.

my eyes were freezing. my skin was freezing. my ankles and knees were aching with cold. but it was all worth it because now, i have a memory. i have an image to conjure of ice dunes.

you and i....we have the best adventures.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.what came before. - .what happened next.

a diamond at the bottom of the drain - 20 october 2017
baseball season to football season, abbreviated - 25 september 2017
the doodles - 11 july 2017
at arm's length - 4 july 2017
like a sea-mammal needs a bicycle - 30 may 2017

latest entry

about me

catalogue

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

kraven
non-descript
heartshaped
fuschia