introspective periscope : peeking inside since Y2K

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

peeking through

snow that doesn't stick - twenty seventh of february, 2002

"someone had better come down and put more than change in our cup or else we...are coming....up."~ani difranco

it started snowing last night. and a good thing, too, because we went to Aldi's and got some food and sixty dollars later, the freezer was full of good things and there wasn't any room for the bag of ice. i have to get bags of ice, you see, because the water here in town smells really funny and is sort of brownish. add that to the fact that i'm pretty bad about making ice, and you may see my point. so, with the temperatures as low as they were (low enough to warrent snow), i was able to save my ice bag remnants using nature's refrigerator. the ice is still solid on the landing but the snow has refused blatently to stick. it just comes down and comes down and flips its middle finger at accumulation.

i had a job interview yesterday. they called me on monday because they got the resume that i dropped in the box at the job fair thing i went to last friday. that was really intimidating, that job fair. it was a bunch of older bizzness cats walking around in suits and blabbering at each other in terms that i couldn't decipher. so i went to kinkos and warred with the uncooperative express meanie and got myself ten copies of my resume. we went back and i just started putting them in the little resume inbox thingies on all of the tables that seemed...somewhat interesting.

"what kind if position are you looking for with us?"

"clerical? data entry? anything that requires that i just be a warm body?"

nods. more nods. scribbles.

i guess i didn't really realize that everyone was gonna scribble on my resume. i can't stop it from infuriating me.

and then they'd take the thing and i'd walk away, feeling completely intimidated and worthless.

but someone called, right? you betcha. i guess getting into those horrid shoes was worth it.

i spent an hour and a half at Mariner Health Services yesterday filling out their flow paperwork and releasing my background for checking and signing things that say i'll submit to a tb test and a physical (this may just be how i weasle a doctor to get me a driver's permit...at least, i hope) and all of this other stuff...just to be a dietary aide. the lady that interviewed me was sketchy but the other lady who had actually called me in was really great. she was nice and just...seemed like they really needed the help. all through the interview, Sketchy kept asking me questions and then not even listening to my answers.

"Why do you think you'd like to work here?"

"I didn't realize this was a nursing home til i got here and my great grandmother was just placed in a facility and......"

it didn't matter. she was too busy answering her phone and working out how they were going to fill the blank spots because people were calling off on her shift left and right. so, i just kept telling myself to smile and nod like they all do and tried to keep my eyes from staring at her tank-ish ass.

the sun peeks out from between those snowy clouds and i realized this morning when i let verbil out that the rent is due and that february is just about over. one more month of this dreary brown drab and i should be okay....if i can just keep thinking this way.

fingers crossed over the job thing. full tummy cuz of the cheap groceries. lots of love because sleeping naked generates more heat. and many thanks to good friends (my brian, in particular) for seeing me through my lowest spots.

just get me through another month.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.what came before. - .what happened next.

a diamond at the bottom of the drain - 20 october 2017
baseball season to football season, abbreviated - 25 september 2017
the doodles - 11 july 2017
at arm's length - 4 july 2017
like a sea-mammal needs a bicycle - 30 may 2017

latest entry

about me

catalogue

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

kraven
non-descript
heartshaped
fuschia