introspective periscope : peeking inside since Y2K

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

while you were gone

20:39:45 - 2000-08-08

Alrighty, kids. Sorry its been awhile since I've posted ANYTHING. I've been traveling home for Brian M's flawless Wild Wild West party turned Survivor (I didnt' really PLAN to carry that stick around with me all night!!) and working like crazy to pay that stupid court thingy off. Ugh. Lets see. I've got some mad poetry to post, too...so look for that in the next few days or so. I've been working out and getting ready to really start hardcore training for Rugby in the fall and have been spending my afternoons at the gym and my evenings falling asleep way too early. I feel like a fifth grader!! But enough of my boring news....Cheers to all that were at Brian's partee, shrugs to those who missed a really good time, and hugs to all, regardless!!~carole

And now...something new. This one, among many from the past, is another for the boy with the glass heart that is entirely too breakable.....though he's failed to be any muse to me but an angry one as of late, and though I've got a sweeter soul to fall for, he still worms his way into his thoughts....um...its like that "i hear your name in certain circles" bit...but I think I'm truly TRULY purging myself of it....sweating him out with every stride forward. Yeah, but I'm gonna stop now before this becomes its own poetry. ;) I am calling this one While You Were Gone and its still in its drafting stages...patience. :) Enjoy.

WHILE YOU WERE GONE

While you were away I saw a sunrise and a s unset

I walked through dewey green grass at eight thirty in the morning,

and went puddle diving with Bellz,

she in her shorts and I in old khakis,

both barefooted, both of us forgetting it was raining.

While you were away,

I committed mail fraud on a weekly basis,

stole the neighbor's Playboy,

and never forwarded the old tenants mail to anyplace

but the orange bags, which I learned were expensive.

I threw a christmas in July party and made a turkey dinner

that was nowhere near as extravagent as

the one I made for you when I thought it mattered

more than it did...

Yes, I had a Christmas Party in the heat of summer,

and the finest kings and queens came out for the gala.

I paid a dollar to see Fourth Fireworks among the inbreds at Mac Park and

went hiking in White's Woods with the Wise One....

Oh, yeah, and while you were away,

I learned to go to bed early and to

sleep through heavy morning traffic.

I went hunting in the humid of the attic

for forgotten treasures and came down with

the red dishes, the mushroom pans, and

a worn Lost Boys poster.

I went a week away to Canada (OOOOOHhhhhh, CANADA!!)

There was dancing and LeBatts

a tour of Centre Island and martinis,

and Mark and Carole day has become

a Canadian National Holiday.

While you were gone,

I worked a nine to five five days a week for the devil and

I did it all with the best Dolly Parton attitude

a girl can put on when she's been waking up to an alarm

Monday through Friday through Monday through Friday...

driven to going home early and playing sick and

calling off once, even, which was never like me before,

but I never had a job for the Devil himself before....

And while you were away,

I got to know S better than I ever would've expected,

I met a boy; I met a girl and

I laughed often and cried so much less than I did

when you're slightest displeasure with me caused me tears.

I danced in my living room on my living room coffee table,

I picniced on the roof,

I learned to love my own hands, yes, both hands,

more than I once loved yours,

and I learned that there is more passion in my

plain everyday hazels than there will ever be

in your brilliant baby blues....

well, more than they'll ever hold for me, again, I mean...

And while you were gone,

I got along just fine.

I learned that days are days and I take them one at a time.

Yes, days are days and nights are only nights,

and I learned to appreciate all I can do,

and I learned that I'm alright on my own,

and I learned a hundred things....

the most I've learned in some time...

and all of it was

while you were gone.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.what came before. - .what happened next.

a diamond at the bottom of the drain - 20 october 2017
baseball season to football season, abbreviated - 25 september 2017
the doodles - 11 july 2017
at arm's length - 4 july 2017
like a sea-mammal needs a bicycle - 30 may 2017

latest entry

about me

catalogue

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

kraven
non-descript
heartshaped
fuschia