introspective periscope : peeking inside since Y2K

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

enough

01:01:11 - 5 october 2000

enough about you enough about them

enough about you enough about them

this time its mine,

this time its me,

and i'm sick of the hyperbole,

i'm sick of the rhetoric,

i'm sick of the cliche,

but its all i have,

this ache in me and

a zillion tears to shed

for no goddamned reason.

Can't put a name to it,

its everything,

its nothing.

enough about you enough about them

enough about you enough about them

this is about me this time,

the person i forgot to pay some respect,

the person i was going to be,

the person i am,

the person i might or might not ever be

it all depends on how much of a chance

i'm willing to give myself.

its about the emptiness laying next to me,

about the discomfort i feel in my skin,

about glow stars and night lights,

about sandals and poetry,

about projects left unfinished.

enough about you enough about them

enough about you enough about them

cuz when i try to be your smile,

when i try to be your good time girl,

i'm leaving myself with a whole lot of nothing

and nothing isn't much to go home with,

but its all i've brought, these days

and i've got an excess of it to get rid of.

enough about you enough about them

enough about you enough about them

its got to be for me or it can't be for anyone,

its got to be mine,

or i can't share it in the first place.

feeling so second place

when there isn't anyone to put first,

feeling so bitter

over something that wasn't mine,

feeling so clean when I'm covered in clay,

feeling so down when i've got

all of this life coursing through my veins,

but it feels a shade or two colder than

watercolor water left in the windowsill overnight

and the life is thinning out so quickly,

each day passing so swiftly into the next

that I don't enjoy it til its gone

and its tiring to think of where i need to be

if i can't be where i was anymore.

enough about you enough about them

enough about you enough about them

because if i can't wake up alone with some peace

to the orange leaves of autumn outside,

and if i can't make it through the day

without some comfort from myself,

the one person that is supposed to know me best,

i don't want to wake up at all.

i'm forgetting myself with each morning

and putting more of myself to rest every night

and there is bound to come the day when

there isn't anything left to put down.

enough about you enough about them

enough about you enough about them

this time its got to be about how I'M feeling today

and not how she has been my silent verse for months,

not about how you've been leaning on me

close enough for me to feel you breathe for weeks,

not about how huggable i am,

or how cute,

or not cute, for that matter....

cuz cute wasn't on my resume.

you must have forgotten who i am,

but it probably happened when i forgot, too.

its just got to be for me,

with this pain with no name,

this ache introducing itself to my stomach,

this stitch in my throat,

uninvited, settling in.

its got to be about how I haven't got the energy to laugh,

how i can't make it up that next hill because

my mind has been draining me of my energy,

about how i'm doubting myself too often.

so fuck you and fuck them for just tonight,

enough about them all

cuz I need a shoulder and there isn't anyone there,

and i need someone to talk to, but its late....

enough about you. enough about them.

enough.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.what came before. - .what happened next.

a diamond at the bottom of the drain - 20 october 2017
baseball season to football season, abbreviated - 25 september 2017
the doodles - 11 july 2017
at arm's length - 4 july 2017
like a sea-mammal needs a bicycle - 30 may 2017

latest entry

about me

catalogue

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

kraven
non-descript
heartshaped
fuschia