introspective periscope : peeking inside since Y2K

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mark's Poem

13:39:08 - 26 September 2000

the sun had dipped when your voice came over the wire,

my fingers were covered with paint and

the wall had been metamorphing from practical to beautiful

and the lady was forming from strokes of mist to flesh.

yes, the sun had set and

the first beer had been cracked;

the first for a sunday night elevator ride that was only

headed UP.

the music....

what was it? cyndi lauper, I think...

whatever it was, it was blaring from

the beaded entryway

and I was all song and tempra and company,

all brushes and water and thought,

and the bells didn't fit the melody and I

picked up the phone, leaning against a

dry patch near the open window,

the cold pouring in like liquid against my flesh

that had been too involved with

motion and pondering and passion

to realize the chill,

and your voice, it came across the wire,

all greetings and salutations and matter-of-fact,

but I could feel something amiss as clearly

as I could feel

the cold and the people coming into the room,

I could sense something amiss.

I think you forget that I've heard your voice enough to

know when to question your tone.

Maybe it was my mind's clarity,

or maybe the cold front managed to solidify something...

something like reason or intellect

that has gone on in its oozing magma state til just now,

yes, maybe it was cosmos that chilled it in the mold

to better salve your soul,

or perhaps its only because you are my friend

and because of the weighted bucket of meaning you've

always been able to carry for me,

with me,

right by my side.

Never let me down once,

and I wish that words could express how much

I wish I could be close by to show you

how much I've seen you grow.

Your voice was different when it came across the wire,

not the closure...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.what came before. - .what happened next.

a diamond at the bottom of the drain - 20 october 2017
baseball season to football season, abbreviated - 25 september 2017
the doodles - 11 july 2017
at arm's length - 4 july 2017
like a sea-mammal needs a bicycle - 30 may 2017

latest entry

about me

catalogue

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

kraven
non-descript
heartshaped
fuschia