introspective periscope : peeking inside since Y2K

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

clad in black

01:51:41 - 16 October 2000

I had some special company this weekend. He came down from Erie to visit with us for Homecoming. Homecoming was nice: we drank, we made merry. We still have a ton of beer left over in the Boozerator...and in the vegetable drawer...and in the meat drawer. We have a lot of beer left over. Still, its time to buckle down and prepare for midterms and do the work I need to do. I also had dinner at my favourite prof's house. The company was lovely and the food was good, too. I finally can picture my dream house. Conversation with intelligent people never, NEVER goes unappreciated. That goes for the dinner company and the company that came to visit. Here's a little bit of free verse non draft what i'm thinking poetry inspired by the american nationalist that has been provoking many of my thoughts today.

Figure Clad In Black

clad in black from head to toe,

just as i expected you'd be,

but you can't cloak those sparking blue eyes,

you can't cover the machine inside,

and you cannot veil the light that shines

from some core inside of you.

clad in black from head to toe,

and thick mutton chops the way my dad had

when they took that picture so many years ago...

and let big brother watch,

i'm too busy watching you,

watching, waiting

for that smile that makes me melt.

clad then in the black and white of sleepclothes,

i curled up next to your form,

comfortable and calm and warm

on a night that called for nervousness

and weather that called for cold.

Even in the smallest of beds,

I've got plenty of room to breathe,

I've got plenty of room to be me

while you judge or suspend judgement,

I do not know,

but the light won't stop sparkling from your eyes and

I slept better than I remember,

better than I have in some time.

Clad in black from head to toe,

a walk to the grove in afternoon,

not much to say,

but as the day wore on,

I found that you appreciate silence as much as I...

which startles me,

because silence never seemed more comforting,

and I know the depth of quiet understanding.

Darkness fades so easily to day,

and I could sit next to you for hours more,

though my words are few,

i can feel the light from inside of you,

closeby, noticing....

you came in clad in black,

just as I expected,

and if big brother is watching,

I hope he's watching me watching you,

and I hope he can see the light you put back into my eyes,

when I thought that it couldn't be done

and had given up hope...

for I've a new name for the symbol,

this black blanketed shadow is no longer

the saddness and the lonlieness,

but rather

some comfort,

some warmth,

and some good company.

come again,

come clad in black.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.what came before. - .what happened next.

a diamond at the bottom of the drain - 20 october 2017
baseball season to football season, abbreviated - 25 september 2017
the doodles - 11 july 2017
at arm's length - 4 july 2017
like a sea-mammal needs a bicycle - 30 may 2017

latest entry

about me

catalogue

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

kraven
non-descript
heartshaped
fuschia