introspective periscope : peeking inside since Y2K

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

books and other ventures

another rainy monday - eleventh of august, 2003

"well you ask me if i'll forget my baby...i guess i will someday."~johnny cash

i've been reading so much lately...lots of good books that have hit me in in the core. read mystic river...and think i might have a recently discovered streak of an affinity for mysteries. read angry housewives eating bonbons and started a sort of book reading club of my own...our first book: white noise by don delillo.

and on top of those, there have been quite a few books on wicca...and those have influenced me the most, lately. the hardest thing about those books is actually choosing some that are not only informative but also simply written, at this point...and everything seems to conflict. a few good ones have been cunningham's wicca: a guide for the solitary practitioner and also, living wicca. and for the first time in my life, i'm finding a sort of spiritual path that actually speaks to me in both my mind and my heart...which is a lot for me to take right now.

have tickets for the counting crows show on thursday night with john mayer and someone else playing...going with nacho and jess and have an extra ticket...we shall see. and then meeting with francesca, there, too.

and also the possibility of a new job. this time with upmc...and the right connections at the right time. but who can resist benefits like health care, vision, dental, and tuition reimbursement? and a quest for a new place to live within my small budget...and striking out on my own this time. it should be an interesting few weeks and months to come.

and there were six kittens born saturday night and late into sunday morning to the stray cat (that has lived in my home for a year now...can i safely call her my cat?) who is quickly becoming my new best friend (second to verbil, of course). they are all smaller than my hand and are much more quiet than the litters before and seem to sleep much more. and unlike the last two litters, the mother cat is still being sweet as ever rather than mean and protective. like we've struck some sort of trusting bond. time will tell.

its hot here and our box fan in the window has finally given up...its motor having run out sometime last week. and with all of the cat spit on kittens, my allergies are verging on berserk again.

otherwise, there's just not too much to say.

except that the sun is peeking out.

until.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.what came before. - .what happened next.

a diamond at the bottom of the drain - 20 october 2017
baseball season to football season, abbreviated - 25 september 2017
the doodles - 11 july 2017
at arm's length - 4 july 2017
like a sea-mammal needs a bicycle - 30 may 2017

latest entry

about me

catalogue

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

kraven
non-descript
heartshaped
fuschia