introspective periscope : peeking inside since Y2K

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MacnCheese

4:30, just before work. - twenty second of march, 2001-the sun showed up today.

"we're gonna rise from these ashes like a bird of flame; take my hand, we're gonna go where we can shine."~david grey

It finally stopped raining sometime before dawn. It dried up and the clouds packed up their fluffy blankets and moved on out, catching a midafternoon jet stream out of town. I need to thank Tennessee T for sending me some sunshine after all of the rain. I smiled as broadly as the sun, feeling the warm rays on my face.

My cold seems to be losing the war with my immune system and my health, although not nearly as strong as usual, is coming back. I think my sense of humor is directly tied in with my well-being. I don't know if its the sunshine or the lovely emails that graced my inbox this morning or the fact that I can once again breathe through my nose again thats brightened my day. Somehow, even though I've convinced myself that I did miserably on my art history exam, nothing could bring me down.

I'm still riding that streak of good mood and enjoying it.

I guess I wanted to take this time before work to talk about the art of making macaroni and cheese from a box. It occured to me today that I should have a cooking show directed at college students. I think that there is too much affection granted Ramen noodles and not nearly enough to do about box macncheese. Sure, there are a few more steps to the dish, but there's a lot more love that goes into mixing powdered cheese with milk and margarine and noodles than there is to mixing a packet of boullion with hot water.

I realized this today when I was making lunch. I'd say that on average, my roommates and I go through nearly 15 boxes of the said entree a week. I've been one to be found at the 4/$1.00 sale at Giant Eagle, loading up the cart with a month's worth of cardboard box dinners. My prettier (dare i say synonomous with more obnoxious?) roommate has to have Kraft. I am not so picky. Generic brands have never offended me except when it comes to canned veggies. Even half price is no discount when you get stems and pieces. Anyway, it occurred to me that there are a lot of memories that mixing the ingredients together bring about every single time I make lunch. I remember how my mother was never any good at making macncheese from a box and that no matter how she did it, it never compared to her homemade version. She always served it with beets. I always remember Saturday afternoons and dreading them because we knew she would be making lunch. It also brings about strong memories of a boy named Mose S. Berrymon. He taught me the true art of mixing the powerdered cheese sauce in gradually. He always made me boil the water and noodles, but never let me mix the stuff. I was always irate. Now, I appreciate the time I had with him, watching him carefully (almost retentively) mix the powder into a perfect creamy sauce. He also made me appreciate the effect that black pepper has on macaroni.

I've never gotten that sort of powerful memory from Ramen or peanut butter and jelly or god awful spaghetti o's. (i HATE you chef boy r dee!!)

Anyway, I know its not much....but it was on my mind this afternoon.

*hugs to all* I hope your days were filled with equally interesting thoughts. Be well, darling boys and beautiful gurls.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.what came before. - .what happened next.

a diamond at the bottom of the drain - 20 october 2017
baseball season to football season, abbreviated - 25 september 2017
the doodles - 11 july 2017
at arm's length - 4 july 2017
like a sea-mammal needs a bicycle - 30 may 2017

latest entry

about me

catalogue

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

kraven
non-descript
heartshaped
fuschia